In God I place my trust

My journey with depression was a long one and a persistent one – it didn’t matter what I did I seemed to do the grey cloud that is depression hung around – to put it succinctly it was a b***h. It was through God’s love and God’s grace that I have been able to walk out of the cloud, I hope once and for all.
God has been leading me towards studying the Psalms at the moment – it is a book of the bible that I had largely ignored or at least hadn’t paid much attention to but I have been following a wonderful study guide Jesus calling by Sarah Young (you can get it here from Koorong online) and one Psalm that kept jumping out at me was…

Blessed is the man who makes the LORD his trust, who does not turn to the proud, to those who go astray after a lie!

Psalms 40:4

Blessed is the (wo)man who makes the Lord his trust… It is a powerful sentence and for me sums up my walk with God in the one sentence. 

In God I place my trust. My trust for forgiveness of my sins through the actions of Jesus Christ. My trust that God will walk with me each day. My trust that God will provide for me. My trust in God’s love. My trust that God is there.

I was 19 when I first committed to the Lord but it took me 3 years, a horrible pregnancy and twin girls for me to place my trust fully in God – at last I understood why anyone would love another that much, how love truely can change your whole perspective on life and how perfect life really can be.

That does not mean that all is magically good and scar free, I have spoken before of the scars left behind by my depression and I’m sure I will again but it does mean that I have left the darkness and I am finally free with two very good reasons to enjoy it.
  
With Blessings,

Jamie xxx

Leave a Reply

