God has many tools – Hindsight is one of them.

This blog has a lot about my journey with God on it, even though I’m yet to put my testimony on here, and I wanted to introduce or reintroduce you to the concept of hindsight. The Oxford dictionary defines hindsight as an “Understanding of a situation or event only after it has happened or developed”. It is a powerful phenomenon and God has been using it in his communication with me a lot recently through this blog but also in little ordinary events that have happened on my day to day life.

I’ve been starting to listen to a variety of random sermons (as in I type in Google or YouTube Christan Sermon about a certain topic and then click on what looks most interesting) while I have been going about my daily chores occasionally to invite God into even the most mundane of tasks of my life and I came across this great sermon on Revelation 10-11 which discussed prophecy in detail. In the bible God used prophecy to prove his promises to his chosen people and this sermon highlighted just what prophecy or in this case hindsight can show us.

“Prophecy is not one of those things where it’s all written out and perfectly understood… God uses symbols. He keeps things a bit vague. The timing sometimes is not understood… As God continues to reveal certain aspects, or certain details, or whatever – then we can begin understand… And, in many cases, what we need to know isn’t “need to know” until after it has already happened. God has His own ways, and He is working out His purpose.”

Richard T. Ritenbaugh 2002 (1)

It’s a fantastic sermon that I would highly recommend listening to if you get the chance – I thoroughly enjoyed it and it helped broaden my understanding of the lengths God is willing to go to engage us and participates in our lives. Two weeks ago I mustered up my courage and went along to a play group based at the church around the corner from my house and amidst the other fantastic activities we made teacup candles that we got the opportunity to decorate ourselves – something I had been longing to try for years. At the time I had not yet started this blog and was working on my first blog Learningtobeagoodwife which is focused around the idea of being a Proverbs 31 wife so naturally when decorating my teacup candle I chose to put the verse i was being called to as part of my decoration…

  
Yes your reading that right – I wrote the wrong verse! Psalm 31 instead of Proverbs 31 wrong, wrong, wrong – or so I thought. I didn’t notice this dilemma until 3 days later when I realised that my old blog just wasn’t the right fit for me. It was too narrow, not interesting enough (to me) and just not what I felt God calling me to do. So naturally of all things I lamented that my candle was now not going to fit my blog! After generally being unproductive in my sulk stress I decided re-read Proverbs 31 to see what I could still take away from it (there is a lot – it’s a great chapter for women!) and discovered that I had been mistaken after all – so suddenly the candle was less than important.

In my haste to get this blog up and running and try an make a success of all of this, which has necessitated checking I.e. remaking old recipies, lots of late night writing sessions and plenty of tea, tissues and panadol, I didn’t even check out the Psalm that I had accidentally written on my candle because I dismissed the idea that the mistake could have been anything but a simple mistake. However yesterday (when I started writing this it was still today instead of yesterday) I had some time up my sleeve while feeding our younger twin her bottle and decided to look the Psalm up.

Never has a chapter from the bible more accurately described my journey and relationship with Christ. Psalm 31 blew me away and left me in awe of God’s awesomeness and love for me! The God that I am in a relationship with loves me enough to use even my simple, everyday mistakes to deepen our relationship! 

Psalm 31 poetically outlines how God not only accepts me with all of my imperfections but how he also protects me from those that would do me wrong AND FROM MYSELF! It describes how God has set my soul, anguished as it is, free to be with him and to no longer be weighed down by the expectations and a cares of others! It speaks of protection and forgiveness and shame and abounding love and pride and anguish and tears all packed into 24 life altering and symbolic verses.

Psalms 31:14-16

But I trust in you, O LORD; I say, “You are my God.” My times are in your hand; rescue me from the hand of my enemies and from my persecutors! Make your face shine on your servant; save me in your steadfast love!

Check out the full Psalm here at Biblegateway.com.

So my prayer for you today is that you feel God’s presence in your life! I pray that those of you who are in need of protection from whatever or whoever your enemies may be that you will tech for God as your rock of refuge! I pray that those of you who do not yet believe in the everlasting, steadfast love of our Heavenly Father will feel him working in you today! I lift you up to the Light of God and ask the Heavenly Father to bless you with his abundant goodness. AMEN!

Do you have a Bible verse or chapter that describes or inspires you on your journey with Jesus? I’d love to hear it! Comment below so that I can walk that journey with you.

Blessings,

Jamie xx

References

(1) Richard T. Ritenbaugh 2002, Sermon: The Two Witnesses (Part 1), Bible Tools, viewed 27 July 2015. Read or listen too full sermon here.

Leave a Reply

