The life of a wife for me.

When I first got married one of my best friends asked me what sort of wife I wanted to be. Did I want to be an obedient wife? Did I want to be the pants in the relationship? Did I want to be a career woman or a housewifeThe answer is I wanted to do it all and have it all!

I’ve been searching out different definitions of the word wife, especially now with the big debate on about legalizing same-sex marriage in Australia, and the most commonly used definition seems to be the female spouse in a marriage. Simple, unassuming and doesn’t offend anyone. Completely politically correct.

When my husband and I sat down and discussed our marriage at the tender age of 20 years old, days before we got married the only thing we could come up with about our roles is that we wanted a more traditional marriage than most people our age would be seeking (very ambiguous). Fast forward three years, two kids, two dogs and a whole lot of ups and downs and we’ve come up with this…

For us marriage is the joining of a male and a female in HOLY matrimony. Swearing to love and honor each other for our WHOLE lives.

This lead me to question again what a good wife was – and I found the answer in the bible…

“A house and wealth are inherited from parents, but a prudent wife is from the LORD.”

Proverbs 19:14

The bible has much to say and much to teach us about who we are and who God wants us to be – how to be a good wife is largely up for interpretation but I aim to become the woman, and wife, the Lord made me to be.

Leave a Reply

